Wait, what? My house is burning down?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Burning Down the House.”

Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

I used to have a standard answer for questions like this.  Pictures were always on the top of the list, but my most important ones are in the cloud now.  I can say the same for my important personal documents (thanks to evernote).  All that said, my list has changed significantly.

  1. Jewelry – Not necessarily the expensive ones or my favorites, but the important pieces that belonged to my grandparents and great-grandparents.
  2. Something of my son’s choosing.  No questions asked.
  3. Cards and letters from family/friends over the years.  (This is a good reminder to scan these and save them to the cloud too.)
  4. My phone!  Yes, I sheepishly admit that I just can’t live without it.
  5. My wallet.  It’s just such a pain to replace everything.
One thought on “Wait, what? My house is burning down?

Leave a Reply

