Quote roundup, January part 1…

Starting in early January, I’ve have been posting motivational quotes on my MyFitnessPal feed.  I thought I would do a monthly roundup of them here as well.  Partly as a way to keep track of what I’ve posted and partly as a reminder to myself of what inspires on particular days.

“I am stronger than my challenges and my challenges are making me stronger.” – Karen Salmansohn

I found this one on a particularly trying week.  It’s been snowing here which isn’t an issue on it’s own, but it has caused a school closing, delayed opening or early closing in 5 of the last 7 school days.  It creates a lot of childcare issues for me and while I can easily work from home, it is not the same as being in the office.  Work of course is busier than usual during this time.  And, my babysitter quit this week, so I have the added stress of finding a new one.  I am an eternal optimist, so I know that I will make it through this test, but right now it is not fun.

“I must be a mermaid… I have no fear of depths and a great fear of shallow living.”-Anaïs Nin

This quote didn’t relate to anything specific I was going through.  It’s just a great reminder to not live life on the surface.  Whatever you choose to do, whether for your career, hobbies or personal life, give it 110% effort!  Always.  Nothing less.

“If you are always trying to be normal, you will never know how amazing you can be.” – Maya Angelou

Love, love, love Maya Angelou!  I was introduced to her writing during 9th grade English class.  I’m not sure what she intended by this quote, but I interpreted it to mean “embrace your quirkiness!”  Be yourself and don’t try to conform to how others think you should be.

“Advice is like snow – the softer it falls, the longer it dwells upon, and the deeper in sinks into the mind.” – Samuel Taylor Coleridge

I found this one on the day of the blizzard.  Enough said.

“There is a certain happiness in being silly and ridiculous.”

I love to laugh and smile.  There is a special pleasure in the type of laughing so hard that it leads to crying.  Don’t take life too seriously – make sure you have good childish fun!

“It does not matter how slowly you go as long as you do not stop.”  – Confucius

My weight loss has plateaued for January and this was a reminder of how far I’ve come and that I will still meet my ultimate goals.  It doesn’t matter how long it takes to get there.  I’m still healthier than I have been in many years (and dare I say, my entire adult life).

“Sore. The most satisfying pain.”

Killer workouts are the best!  No need to explain more.

“I find that the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have.” –Thomas Jefferson

I’ve heard complaints from people that they are never lucky — they can’t find the right jobs or relationships or something else.  I have found though that you need to create your own luck.  Well, maybe not create it, but at least go through life with your eyes open to see the opportunities that might be right in front of you.

“Life is simple. Everything happens for you, not to you. Everything happens at exactly the right moment, neither too soon nor too late. You don’t have to like it… it’s just easier if you do.” – Byron Katie

My grandma taught me that everything happens for a reason.  You just need to figure out what that reason is and what the lesson is to learn.  I have found that everything does work out in the end.  Of course, that’s the optimist in me again!

Leave a Reply

