Being an only…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Cut Off.”

When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?

There hasn’t been a specific moment when I have felt lonely, but I do experience waves of this feeling being an only child.  There are some pros and cons to being an only child.  There have been some true advantages.  I was treated as one of the grown-ups from a young age.  I never had to fight for attention or share my toys.  My mom has become one of my best friends.

It’s the difference of feeling lonely vs being alone, and as I get older, I feel alone sometimes.  I hear my friends talking about their relationships, good and bad, with their siblings and I feel that I’m missing out.  It’s a different kind of intimacy than you could ever have with a friend, child, cousin, parent or partner and it’s something that I will never experience.

Interestingly and not intentionally, I have surrounded myself with other only children, including two of my team members.  We bring a unique perspective and approach to the workplace.  One of my dear friends is also an only child of a single mom.  It’s a special way of growing up.

Leave a Reply

