It’s getting hot in here…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Ring of Fire.”  Do you love hot and spicy foods or do you avoid them for fear of what tomorrow might bring?

hot sauce

This is my idea of a little slice heaven.  I took this picture at a store in Boulder, CO a few summers ago.  I couldn’t even get all of their wonderful varieties of hot sauces into one picture.  I wish I could have brought all of these amazing bottles of goodness home with me.  This doesn’t even include fresh chilies, chili powders, wasabi, etc.  Throw those in and I’m truly in heaven.

I go out of my way to have spicy foods. It is a staple in my house and lives right next to the salt and pepper on the table.  I love it all from the mild heat that brings a layer of flavor and depth to foods to the intense heat that leads to a slight burn in the back of my throat, the beads of sweat that form on my forehead, the runny nose.  I have to admit, I just don’t understand people who don’t like spicy food.  There was a study recently that men who like hot food have high testosterone.  They really need to do a study on women too.  And heck, there have been studies too how spicy foods speed up metabolism.  Hot sauce is just another part of my weight loss plan.

Leave a Reply

