Communication in a modern world…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World.”

How do you communicate differently online than in person, if at all? How do you communicate emotion and intent in a purely written medium?

How have we changed our communication methods to adapt to our constantly changing world and how can we stay connected to our friends, family, colleagues, others?  This is something I’m always asking myself.  I was never a huge “communicate by phone” person before all of these other methods became available and popular.  To be honest, outside of my work, it took me a long time to really catch on to communicating by email with friends or family.  I had always put this pressure on myself to write a certain amount and if I didn’t, I worried what the other person thought.  Texting, chatting, etc, are much easier.  No one is offended by a one or two word response.  Hey, it’s almost preferred!

However, it is much more challenging to convey the right emotion.  I’m notorious for misreading email.  I love when people include emojis — helps to make the message clearer.  I’ve had some funny exchanges when I ask for clarification.  😉

Leave a Reply

