Lists, lists, lists…

The 2nd assignment for Writing 101 is write a list.  What a perfect assignment for me.  What can I say, I love lists, and I have written about them before on this blog.

My list of lists

A bucket list (which needs some updating)

A reading list for 2015 (I promise I have read more than I indicate here. Just need to update it!)

And that’s just my personal lists.  At work, I’m very process oriented and create many workflows and checklists.  A few years back, a colleague recommended the book A Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande.  I have been known to bring this to meetings to stress the importance of not just reading the checklist once, but following it every time!

So, the assignment was to really hone in on “things I like”, “things I’ve learned” or “things I wish”.  My earlier lists cover some of them, but I’m never one to shy away from creating new lists.

Things I like:

  • Rainbows
  • My family
  • Fine wine
  • Spending time with friends
  • The high I get from a great workout
  • Quiet time to read a book with no interruptions
  • The smell of old library books
  • Fall foliage
  • Chocolate
  • Dressing up to the nines
  • Lounging at home in my sweats
3 thoughts on “Lists, lists, lists…

  1. Kathy says:

    I love you list – it shows diversity – dressing up to the nines vs lounging in sweats. I prefer sweats and can usually dress as I wish because I work from home. Right now I am still in my pjs. LOL. I liked this the best: Quiet time to read a book with no interruptions. This is a favorite for me. With 2 kids, plus 3 dogs and 2 cats, this house is rarely quiet. There are always interruptions until my kids are in bed. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

      • Kathy says:

        I eventually have to change so I can pick up my daughter from school. But I go from pjs to sweats or something comfortable. Once I was late for school and was waving to my daughter from afar. When she got to me she said “I always know who you are Mommy because you don’t dress nice.” I guess the look on my face said it all. That girl back peddled so fast trying to explain herself. I told her it was ok.

        Like

Leave a Reply

